Beginning Training

So, having mentally committed to completing the AAWT, I now have 1 year to get myself into shape, and buy equipment, book flights, and plan the trip in great detail. Doesn’t sound like much when I put it like that.

I’ve read several blogs by AAWT bush-walkers (one of the most detailed is here), and have been inspired, yet daunted by the intensity of the track. I’m under no illusion about how much work I have ahead of me.

Last month, I walked from Coventry to Nuneaton (approx 11 miles), which is roughly the daily average distance I’ll need to make. I completed this trip in 3.5 hours, yet the next day, my legs seized up, and I could barely walk for the next few days. That’s not taking into account that, on the AAWT, I’ll have a backpack, weighing up to 25Kg, and will be climbing/descending mountains with peaks of up to 2000m, all in temperatures of between 40C/-10C!

On the other hand, I know I’ll be able to walk at a slower pace on the AAWT, as the above trip only took a morning. Even so, until I can do a walk like above and not feel any effects from it, I’ll still have to increase my fitness, so off to the gym it is for me!

Unfortunately, I have a pesky knee injury from an extremely energetic dance (don’t ask), so I’ll have to avoid high impact exercise until that’s all healed. I’m also moving back to Northampton in a couple of weeks, so realistically, I won’t be able to begin training until after the move. That will give me exactly 1 year.

I’m looking forward to stepping back onto the cross-trainer, and getting back into shape. I’ll post further updates and pics as and when, along with further blogs about various elements of the trip.

TTFN!!

Leave a comment